Friday, April 17, 2015

Friday, April 17, 2015 12:30 am by M. in , ,    No comments
An alert for today, April 17, in Haworth:
William Atkins: The Moor
Author reading in Haworth
West Lane Baptist Centre, Haworth, on April 17 at 7.30pm.

The Moor: Lives, Landscape, Literature follows a journey on foot through Britain's moorlands from the southwest tip to the Scottish borders. The account is both travelogue and natural history, and an exploration of moorland’s uniquely captivating position in our literature, history and psyche. In this event, William Atkins focuses on moorland literature, bringing in literary works such as Wuthering Heights, Hound of the Baskervilles and Lorna Doone.The Moor was described by The Guardian as ‘an ambitious mix of history, topography, literary criticism and nature writing, in the tradition of WG Sebald, Robert MacFarlane and Olivia Laing.’
Jenna Holmes, arts officer at the Brontë Parsonage Museum, said she was delighted that William Atkins was returning to Haworth.
She said: “He gives a wonderful account of the Haworth moors in his book, including the history of the three Withens farms and the families who once lived there, and anyone interested in local history as well as the landscape will find this a fascinating event.”
The talk is part of the Brontë Society’s latest contemporary arts season, which is funded by Arts Council England. (David Knights)


Post a Comment