Wednesday, July 08, 2020

First of all, it's a relief to hear this:
On the Arts Council England website we read:
We've awarded a total of £33 million to 196 NPOs through this fund. This fund was also available to lead Creative People and Places organisations, but none applied. You can review or download the data below.
The Brontë Society £133,000

Tor recommends '23 Retellings of Classic Stories From SFF [Science Fiction & Fantasy] Authors', including
Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
A retelling of: Every crumbling, haunted, Gothic house tale
For fans of The Turn of the Screw or Wuthering Heights, Silvia Moreno-Garcia has crafted a Gothic Funhouse of a novel that plays with beloved Victorian Gothic tropes. You’ve got a big old decaying mansion, a socialite in a big fancy dress, potential poisonings, screaming ghosts, dark secrets. What more could you ask for? (Christina Orlando and Leah Schnelbach)
While Insider ranks 'the 50 best period piece films of all time' according to critics.
37. "Jane Eyre" brought Charlotte Bronte's novel to life.
Rotten Tomatoes score: 84%
An orphaned girl named Jane Eyre (Mia Wasikowska) finds stability as a governess at Edward Rochester's (Michael Fassbender) estate in this adaptation of Charlotte Brontë's 1847 novel. As she begins to form a relationship with the head of the estate, she learns a troubling truth about him.
"This 'Jane Eyre,' energetically directed by Cary Joji Fukunaga ('Sin Nombre') from a smart, trim script by Moira Buffini ('Tamara Drewe'), is a splendid example of how to tackle the daunting duty of turning a beloved work of classic literature into a movie," A.O. Scott wrote for The New York Times. (Claudia Willen)
The fact that there's no other Jane Eyre and no Wuthering Heights at all makes us feel rather doubtful.

La razón (Spain) has a 'brilliant' article on the so-called 'Brönte' (sic) family from 'Howorth' (sic) who were cursed (sic) by TB while taking it for granted that even Charlotte died of TB too (or maybe 'late labour', whatever that is). It also claims that Branwell was the inspiration for Arthur Huntingdon in The Tenant of 'Wildhell' (sic) Hall by Anne (who is sometimes Anna in the article). Similarly, Emily was 'abrupt' and a real-life version of her unforgettable character 'Hitchcliff' (sic) and so on and so forth. We suppose the writer is now awaiting his Pulitzer nomination after penning such an accurate piece of writing.

Newsweek feels the need to remind us of the fact that there were indeed women writers before 1997. And The Brussels Times reports the news about the future Brontë sisters square in Koekelberg.

Finally, The Eyre Guide is giving away a copy of her novel The Governess of Thornfield.

0 comments:

Post a comment