Sunday, April 28, 2013

Sunday, April 28, 2013 1:55 am by M. in    No comments
Network ON AIR has released The Brontës of Haworth 1973 in Region 2/PAL:
The Brontës of Haworth: The Complete Series

In their isolated world on the Yorkshire Moors, the Brontë sisters found an escape in the childhood fantasies that would help mould the novels now regarded as classics of world literature; the grey-stone parsonage at Haworth in which they spent much of their short lives has become a place of literary pilgrimage. In this acclaimed mini-series, distinguished playwright, author and critic Christopher Fry tells the extraordinary story of a troubled family of genius.

Vickery Turner, Rosemary McHale and Ann Penfold portray the shy, precociously talented Brontë sisters; Michael Kitchen plays Branwell, the brother whose life, ravaged by drink and drugs, ended at the age of 31, and Alfred Burke stars as the Reverend Patrick Brontë, the widowed father who would outlive all his children.

Tracing significant events and key periods, each member of the Brontë family is brought vividly to life in this meticulously researched series.

Number of Discs: 2
Picture 1.33:1 / Colour
Sound Mono / English
Subtitles None
Region 2 / PAL
Time 300 mins approx
29th April 2013


Post a Comment