Friday, January 15, 2021

Friday, January 15, 2021 10:44 am by Cristina in , , , , ,    No comments
Marie Curie TalkAbout shares 'Five hopeful quotes for anyone who’s feeling lonely this January' including one from Villette:
1) “Peril, loneliness, an uncertain future, are not oppressive evils, so long as the frame is healthy and the faculties are employed; so long, especially, as Liberty lends us her wings, and Hope guides us by her star.” – Charlotte Brontë
Charlotte Brontë is possibly most famously known as the author of the classic novel, Jane Eyre. The author spent most of her life in the quiet town of Haworth in Yorkshire, isolated from the rest of the world. She experienced her fair share of grief in this home, with her mother and all her five siblings dying before her.
This quote is strikingly relevant for our current times, living with the danger of the pandemic. However, Brontë urges us to remain hopeful, despite an ‘uncertain future’. (Poppy Dillon)
'Reading during the pandemic' in the Deccan Herald.
The Brontë sisters are there with Jane Eyre an intense novel in which a young orphaned girl seeks freedom and love without sacrificing her integrity  and  Wuthering Heights  a novel full of passion and depiction of destructive love. (Sudha Devi Nayak)
Entertainment Weekly shares the first chapter of the forthcoming YA novel We Are Inevitable by Gayle Forman.
"I don't—" I'm drowned out by an ice-sharp crack, followed by the pitiful sounds of books avalanching onto the floor. One of our largest shelves has split down the middle, like the chestnut tree in Jane Eyre. And anyone who's read Jane Eyre knows what that portends. 
According to Book Riot Jane Slayre by Sherri Browning Erwin is a book for fans of Dungeons and Dragons.
My initial idea for what a Paladin might read was Bram Stoker’s Dracula, what with all the religious imagery and vampire hunting involved. However, I think that those who fight for their faith and typically rid the world of evil in the name of goodness will find a lot to love about this monster mash. Surprisingly entertaining, this retelling of Jane Eyre not only features vampires, but also zombies and werewolves, as the plucky Jane arms herself with a stake and resolute Christian values to wipe Thornfield clean of misbehaving bloodsuckers. It’s a bit ridiculous, but just might reinvigorate a burned-out Paladin with a newfound delight for righteous justice. And, perhaps, Oathbreakers will revel in the mischief of transforming such a beloved classic into an ironic slasher fan fiction.
CW: Gore (Zoe Robertson)
We read this anecdote in Mark Eden's obituary in The Times:
 Aged 18, he contracted tuberculosis, which would later kill his elder brother, and spent two years in a sanatorium; an experience that changed his life. Eden struck up a conversation with a fellow patient, an English teacher, who was “sitting on his bed doing The Times crossword puzzle”. He advised Eden to make good use of his time by broadening his knowledge of literature; he duly did, reading “most of Dickens, the complete works of Shakespeare, Trollope, Forster, the Brontës, Greene, Waugh etc”. 
The York Press features Rosalind Freeborn, the artist behind the Brontë sisters lampshadeVeja (Brazil) shares the 'curious' life of Emily Brontë, which is curious indeed as the article is illustrated by a portrait of her sister Charlotte. Heart Wants Books posts about Sarah Shoemaker's Mr Rochester.

0 comments:

Post a comment